Owen Brierley Elected New President For Digital Alberta

Digital AlbertaOwen Brierley is changing seats from being a board member to now having been elected the new president of Digital Alberta. Owen is an active Canadian technologist and his experience in the digital industry will have a significant impact on the future of Digital Alberta. Along with Owen’s appointment, one executive position and four board member positions were also elected.

Owen is the Executive Director of Guru Digital Arts College and brings 15 years of experience in the digital media industry. He also served as the Multimedia Development Coordinator for Alberta Learning’s LearnAlberta.ca project, a repository of digital learning objects for the K-12 sector.

Wade Muri, from WadeCo Ventures was elected VP North, where he will be working in Edmonton. Jas Panesar from Damaag Consulting will also be joining the Edmonton division as a board member. Peter Bishop from ZGM Collaborative Marketing, Jamie Clark from Business Instincts Group and Tyler Shandro from Robots and Pencils were elected as board members for the Calgary division.

The new board members join existing members Arleigh Vasconcellos as Vice President South, Joon Chan as Treasurer, Meredith MacDonald as Governance Chair, and Kevin Dhal, Ryan Bonnell, Chelsea Klukas and Chad Smith as directors. Former President Michelle Sklar will remain on to serve as Past President.